UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Wednesday, November 30, 1999

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL special meeting held on Tuesday, November 30, 1999 at 8:30 a.m. in the Croft Chapter House, University College.

Present:

Ms Wendy M. Cecil-Cockwell (In the Chair) Mrs. Mary Anne V. Chambers, Vice-Chair The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman, Chancellor

Professor J. Robert S. Prichard, President

Professor Mary Beattie Dr. Robert Bennett Mr. Brian C. Burchell Professor Jack Carr Dr. John R. G. Challis

Professor W. Raymond Cummins The Honourable William G. Davis

Ms Shruti Dev

Ms Wanda M. Dorosz Dr. Shari Graham Fell Mr. Paul V. Godfrey Mr. Peter A. Herrndorf Dr. Robert J. Kyle Mr. Gerald A. Lokash Professor John T. Mayhall Professor Heather Munroe-Blum

Dr. John P. Nestor Mr. Elan Ohayon

Ms Jacqueline C. Orange

Mr. Jonathan Papoulidis

Ms Rose M. Patten Mr. Kashif S. Pirzada

Mr. Kasnii S. Pirzada

Professor Emmet I. Robbins Professor Wendy Rolph Mrs. Susan M. Scace Professor Kenneth Sevcik

Mr. Amir Shalaby

Mr. Robert G. Spencer

Mr. Terrence L. Stephen Ms Wendy Talfourd-Jones

Professor Ronald D. Venter

Ms Nancy L. Watson Dr. Alexander R. Waugh

Ms Judith Wilson

Mr. Vilko Zbogar

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

Secretariat:

Ms Margaret McKone

Absent:

Professor Vivek Goel
Dr. Anne Golden
Professor Brian Langille
Professor Ian R. McDonald
The Honourable David R. Peterson

The Honourable Robert K. Rae Dr. Joseph L. Rotman Professor Adel S. Sedra Mr. John H. Tory

<u>In Attendance</u>:

Professor Emeritus George E. Connell

Mrs. Ruth Alexander, member, Presidential Search Committee

Dr. Claire Alleyne, member, Presidential Search Committee

Ms Aisling Burke, member, Presidential Search Committee

Dr. John R. G. Challis, member, Presidential Search Committee

Professor Martin Moskovits, member, Presidential Search Committee

Ms P. Michelle Pensa, member, Presidential Search Committee

In Attendance: (cont'd)

Professor Paul J. Perron, member, Presidential Search Committee Mr. Thomas H. Simpson, member, Presidential Search Committee Ms Kim Stangeby, member, Presidential Search Committee Professor Michael J. Trebilcock, member, Presidential Search Committee

PURSUANT TO SECTION 44 OF BY-LAW NUMBER 2, THE GOVERNING COUNCIL CONSIDERED THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE *IN CAMERA*, WITH MEMBERS OF THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE INVITED TO ATTEND.

99-11-01 Appointment of the President

Following discussion in camera,

On motion duly made and seconded,

It was Resolved

- (1) That, in view of a shared intention that the next President will serve for ten years, Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau be appointed President of the University of Toronto, effective July 1, 2000, for seven years to June 30, 2007, and for up to an additional three years, subject to a review no later than December 31, 2006 by the Executive Committee of Governing Council and a subsequent determination by the full Governing Council and by Dr. Birgeneau that continuation of the term is mutually agreeable.
- (2) That the Senior Salary Committee be authorized to complete negotiations with Dr. Robert J. Birgeneau.

On motion duly made and seconded,

the Governing Council RESOLVED to express its gratitude to the Chairman and members of the Presidential Search Committee.

	The meeting adjourned at 9:30 a.m.	
Secretary January 18, 2000		Chairman