



PDADC #38, 2014-15

To: Governing Council

Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors and Chairs Professionals, Managers and Confidential Staff

President of UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU

President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA)

From: Professor Meric Gertler, President

Date: November 6, 2014

Re: President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-

President, Advancement - Call for Submissions

In 2012, the Governing Council approved the reappointment of Mr. David Palmer as Vice-President, Advancement, for a second term "starting September 6, 2012 and extending not less than 12 months and not more than 18 months into the term of the next President." Mr. Palmer is eligible to be reappointed.

Respecting the parameters of the resolution, it is timely to consider the appointment and, following consultation with colleagues and Governors, I have now struck a Committee to advise me on the steps to be taken. The Committee's first priority will be to provide advice on whether a reappointment should be offered or if a search should be undertaken. If the latter, the Committee will consider the scope of any search to be undertaken and will provide advice on candidates for my consideration in making a recommendation to Governing Council.

The Advisory Committee, which I will chair, comprises the following individuals:

Professor David Cameron, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science Professor Bruce Kidd, Interim Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Scarborough

Professor Ira Jacobs, Dean, Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education Mr. Mark Krembil, Lieutenant Governor-in-Council member of the Governing Council

- Ms Alana Silverman, Executive Director, Development & Alumni Affairs, Trinity College
- Ms Gillian Sneddon, Executive Director, Advancement, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Mr. Andrew Stelmacovich, Executive Director, Advancement, University of Toronto Mississauga
- Professor Marla B. Sokolowski, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Mr. John Switzer, Alumni member of the Governing Council
- Professor Catharine Whiteside, Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Healthcare Institutions

Mr. Louis Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee. Ms Sheree Drummond, Deputy Secretary, will also provide support.

The Committee welcomes your input. Submissions should be sent by **5:00 p.m. on Monday, November 10, 2014** using the confidential online form available at: https://uoftgc.wufoo.com/forms/vice-president-advancement/.